Driving without car insurance in Georgia

It is illegal in all 50 states to drive without auto insurance. In Georgia, taking your chances will cost you.

If you’ve been driving without liability insurance or have been involved in a car accident, you may face substantial consequences. Read on to learn more.

What does liability insurance do?

Liability insurance covers damage expenses in case you are involved in a car accident that results in injuries or property damage.

Penalties for driving without car insurance

If you are pulled over or involved in a crash while you are not insured, you may be charged with a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine up to $1,000 or 12 months of jail time or both.

Your license may be suspended for a minimum of 60 days and the Georgia Department of Revenue is also required to suspend or revoke the registration of your vehicle.

Proving insurance

A car insurance ID card should be carried for purposes of exchanging information with other drivers after a car crash.

Law enforcement officers use the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS) to verify your car insurance electronically.

Driving with a suspended license

Penalties for driving with a suspended license can include an additional six-month license suspension, a fine up to $1000 and potential jail time.

Reinstating your license

If your Georgia driver’s license was suspended, it will not be automatically reinstated. Steps to take to reinstate your license include:

  • Completing the 60 day waiting period of the suspension (90 days for subsequent offenses)
  • Purchasing auto insurance covering $25,000 per person for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage
  • Paying a reinstatement fee of $200 by mail or $210 at your local DDS office (additional $100 for subsequent offenses)

Registering your vehicle may include a $25 lapse fee and a $60 reinstatement fee.

Contact an attorney

If your car insurance was canceled and you did not receive notice or if you are seeking help reinstating your license or charges related to driving without insurance, contact an attorney with a background in Georgia traffic law for help.

Contact Us

Subscribe To This Blog’s Feed

Visit Our Criminal Defense Law Website

FindLaw Network