Balbo & Gregg, Attorneys at Law, P.C.
Call Today 912-330-6939

Richmond Hill Law Blog

What is an aggravated DUI charge?

In the state of Georgia, a person is considered intoxicated if they are driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent. This means that even if the person is not exhibiting all of the signs and symptom of intoxication, they can still be convicted of drunk driving based solely upon a blood alcohol test. A DUI charge is a serious matter and a conviction can have lasting repercussions.

However, there is another form of DUI that is also very serious and that readers should be aware of. That is aggravated DUI, and there are several different ways that this charge may occur. One way is if the driver is alleged to have a blood alcohol concentration of at least .15 percent, or nearly twice the limit of a standard DUI charge.

Can you drive while wearing headphones?

Driving is a relatively mundane task and many people search for ways to multitask or pass the time. People have been known to use their phones, eat, drink and even apply makeup or do their hair while driving, all of which could fall under the umbrella of distracted driving.

On a safer side, most people listen to music or even podcasts while driving. But what if you do not have a car that connects to your phone? Can you still listen to your music with headphones while driving? Is this considered distracted driving in Georgia?

What is a repayment plan under Chapter 13 bankruptcy?

It is often the case that when a Georgia resident cannot get ahead of their overwhelming debts that they may turn to bankruptcy as a means of getting themselves back on the right financial path. There are two main forms of bankruptcy that individuals generally decide between when their debts are the result of personal financial management - Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 - and this post will focus on one of the most significant components of one of those processes.

In Chapter 13 bankruptcy a person is asked to create a repayment plan. On its face a repayment plan is exactly what it sounds like. It is a schedule of when and how much money a debtor will be able to provide to their creditors over time so that they may eventually satisfy their obligations.

Get answers to your tough car accident questions

A vehicle accident can be the beginning of a whirlwind of questions for a Georgia victim. Last week's post introduced just one of the many inquiries individuals may need to make when they have suffered losses in a crash. Other questions that they may face may concern how they will pay for their damages, who is responsible for their suffering, and when they will be able to get their life back to normal.

Many of these questions have complex answers and getting to the bottom of them may take time and careful review. Individuals who are struggling to make sense of their vehicle accidents and are stuck getting themselves back on track financially should know that they may be entitled to compensation for their damages.

Is a settlement a good idea after a car accident?

Not every personal injury case that is filed after a car accident will go to trial. For some, a settlement may be a good way to resolve outstanding legal issues and to secure compensation for losses. Settlements provide victims with financial compensation without the hassle of pleading their cases in Georgia courtrooms.

However, a settlement generally cannot be accomplished without a cost. To settle a legal claim, the parties must first agree on how they will resolve the pending matter. Parties often do not want to make agreements without ensuring that they are protected. While victims often get money out of settlements, responsible parties often get guarantees that they will not be pursued for further compensation from their victims.

Zero tolerance law applies to Georgia teens

Across the nation, the legal drinking age is 21. However, most individuals know that not all young people wait until their 21st birthdays to take their first sips of alcohol.

For this reason, states, including Georgia, have adopted zero tolerance laws. These laws are meant to discourage underage drinking and driving. In Georgia, if a person below the age of 21 is stopped for a suspected DUI and they are found to have a blood alcohol concentration greater than .02, they can be charged under the state's zero tolerance law.

Driving without car insurance in Georgia

It is illegal in all 50 states to drive without auto insurance. In Georgia, taking your chances will cost you.

If you’ve been driving without liability insurance or have been involved in a car accident, you may face substantial consequences. Read on to learn more.

How can dog attacks on children be prevented?

An attacking dog can cause serious harm and even death to a victim of any size or age. However, when dogs attack children, the harm they inflict may be compounded by the size of the child compared to their canine aggressors. Every year too many children in Georgia and throughout the country suffer harm when they are bitten and attacked by dogs.

Dogs bite for many reasons. They may feel threatened by the actions of those around them, or they may be surprised by a sudden movement or sound made by a child. Dogs may use bites to warn people not to bother them or to defend themselves.

Managing debts after a Chapter 7 bankruptcy discharge

Readers may be surprised to learn that a person can emerge from the Chapter 7 bankruptcy process with many debts still intact. This is because not all debts can be discharged. When pursuing bankruptcy, a person should have a plan for how they will manage their post-discharge debts and that plan should begin with knowing what they will be liable for once their Chapter 7 proceedings have ended.

Debts that a person acquires due to judicial orders or judgments can generally not be discharged in Chapter 7 bankruptcy. These debts can include, but are not limited to, orders for child support and spousal support, fines for criminal convictions or personal injury liabilities, and some tax debts.

Steps to take following a motor vehicle accident

Surviving a car accident can be a harrowing experience. Due to the incredible forces that come into play when two or more vehicles collide, it can be a miracle for victims to walk away from their collisions. However, it is not uncommon for accident victims to suffer some form of injuries when they are involved in accidents.

When an accident happens, it is important that victims first seek medical attention. A car accident may leave a victim with a new injury, such as a broken bone or a concussion, or it may aggravate an existing injury that the victim had prior to the crash. Getting medical help is a necessary part of recovering from a collision because it will put a victim on the right course to mend their harm and will document the losses they suffered when they were hurt by the negligence of another driver.

Balbo & Gregg, Attorneys at Law, P.C.

Main: 11258 Ford Avenue, | Suite 11 | Richmond Hill, GA 31324 | Map & Directions

Branch: 410 W General Screven Way | Hinesville, GA 31313 | Map & Directions

CTN: 912-330-6939 | Local Phone: 912-459-1776 | Fax: 912-459-1777